FIL World Lacrosse Championships Schedule

Basic Information about the Championships

The world lacrosse championships in Denver are drawing ever closer and the full schedule, including divisions and team pair-ups, has been made public. The championships will span over 10 days with 38 nations from all over the world playing in 142 games, so it will be a grand event indeed.

Each team is part of a division, which in turn are named after colors. The blue bloods, meaning the top teams of the world, are aptly paired up in the Blue Division, also the only group with six teams, while the other 8 divisions all contain 4 teams which are put together randomly.

The Blue Division consists of the following teams:

Blue Division
United States

Germany’s representing team has been placed in Red Division alongside Austria, Belgium and Hong Kong.

The Schedule

As listed by the championship website, the general schedule of the games is as follows:

Thursday, July 10, 2014
Opening Ceremonies

Thursday, July 10, 2014
Round Robin Games Begin

Thursday, July 17, 2014

Saturday, July 19, 2014
Championship Game

Saturday, July 19, 2014
Closing Ceremonies

Other games also include:

Thursday, July 10 – Saturday, July 12
U11 and U17

Sunday, July 13 – Tuesday, July 15
U13 and U15

Wednesday, July 16 – Saturday, July 19
Elite/Open, 30+, 35+, 40+, 45+, 50+, 55+, 60+

For a full schedule and division information, click here to go to the world championship website, which contains every day broken down into exact times of the matches. Check back on the Captain Lax blog for pictures and news, as well as video highlights from the most important lacrosse event of the year!

Sticks up!

Leave a Reply