What does the lacrosse abbreviation MLL mean?

The abbreviation MLL signifies Major League Lacrosse a semi-professional men lacrosse league in the US. In the last season (2016) 9 US-American teams were participating. The league was founded in 1999 and the first season took place in 2001. Because lacrosse is much bigger in America than in Germany, they have a more extensive structure, so we want to explain to you the principles, the histroy and the basic facts about the MLL.

What is MLL?

Facts about the MLL

The  league was founded in 1999 and currently consists of nine teams. Each MLL team has a season schedule of 14 games. The team which makes it to the final even 16 games. The season starts in April and the end of the season in August. The winner of the MLL gets the Steinfeld Trophy. The MLL also belongs to the semi-professional leagues. The players are supposed to earn 10,000 – 25,000 dollar a year, so the players and employees mostly have other jobs.
MLL’s sponsors include Coca Cola, Powerade, New Balance, Warrior, Cascade Lacrosse, Maverik Lacrosse, STX, Brine and many others.

History of the MLL

In 1998, Jake “Body By Jake” Steinfeld, got the idea of launching a professional outdoor lacrosse league, after reading a report about the growth of the sport lacrosse. This is why he teamed up with the owner and president of Warrior Lacrosse, Dave Morrow. They also included Steinfeld’s friend Tim Robertson, Chairman of Bay Shore Enterprises and former CEO of the Family Channel and together they formed the Major League Lacrosse, LLC, a Virginia limited liability company. In 2003, New Balance Athletic Shoe Inc. and an Anchor Level League sponsor were added as founders.
In June 2001 began the first MLL season with 6 teams, which were divided into two divisions. In the first two years they played a 14-game season and then of course the championship final. In 2003, the number of games was reduced to 12, but in 2012 again increased to 14. The team number also changed frequently. By the year 2005 six teams participated in the tournament. Between 2006 and 2008, a total of 10 teams, from 2009 to 2011 only six, because four teams fell out due to financial problems. From 2012 to 2015 they played with 8 teams and in 2016 another team joined, so there are nine teams.

Season 2016

Season 2016 of NLLThe MLL season 2016 started this year in April and ended with the Steinfeld Cup in August. 9 teams participated. Tom Schreiber became the Season MVP. The final champions of the 16th MLL season were the Denver Outlaws followed by the Ohio Machine. The Denver Outlaws won their second Steinfeld Cup Trophy in three years and defeated the Ohio Machine with 19-18.
Exceptionally this year was that 7 teams finished the play-offs with a stand of 8-6. All these teams have a right to get into the semi-finals. These were the New York Lizards, the Denver Outlaws, the Ohio Machine, the Charlotte Hounds, the Boston Cannons, the Rochester Rattlers and the Chesapeake Bayhawks. With the tiebreaker procedure the teams for the semi-finals were defined. In addition, the semi-finals were held for the first time at separate/neutral locations, the Rafferty Stadium of Fairfield University in Connecticut and the Sports Center Stadium near Minneapolis, Minnesota.
Among the venues of the season 2016 are the Fifth Third Bank Stadium of the Atlanta Blaze, the Harvard Stadium of the Boston Cannons, the American Legion Memorial Stadium of the Charlotte Hounds, the Navy Marine Corps Memorial Stadium of the Chesapeake Bayhawks, the Sports Authority Field at Mile High of the Denver Outlaws, the FAU Stadium of the Florida Launch, the James M. Shuart Stadium of the New York Lizards, the Panther Stadium of the Ohio Machine and the Wegmans Sports Complex of the Rochester Rattlers.


As already mentioned, there are currently 9 teams in the MLL, who also have their own stadium or their own arena. The Atlanta Blaze are locted in Kennesaw, GA and have been in the MLL since 2016. The Boston Cannons are based in Boston, MA and have been a member since 2001. Charlotte Hounds are from Charlotte, NC and have been part of the MLL since 2012. The Chesapeake Bayhawks from Annapolis, MD are members since 2001. The Denver Outlaws from Denver, CO have been members since 2006. The Florida Launsch are from Boca Raton, FL (Miami). The New York Lizards are from Hempstead, NY (New York) and have been a member since 2012 and the Rochester Rattlers from Brockport, NY (Rochester) since 2001.
During the years some teams have left the MLL. At the moment, there are six teams, the Chicago Machine from Chicago, the Hamiltons Nationals from Hamilton, the Philadelphia Barrage from Philadelphia, the New Jersey Pride from Piscataway, the Los Angeles Riptide from Carson and the San Francisco Dragons.

Format and Rules

It is played according to the well-known rules. There are only three additional rules, which would be:
1. Two-point goal: Goals scored from behind the two-point goal line (16 yards from goal) are counted twice.
2. Since 2009, four longsticks per team have been allowed on the field.
3. 60-second shot: If the ball-bearing team didn’t make a goal shot after 60 seconds, the ball possession changes.

We hope we could give you some interesting, new facts about the MLL. If you have any questions, please visit the official MLL homepage. If you are also interested in what happens at the NLL, just have a look at one of our previous posts.

Leave a Reply