What is the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame?

The National Lacrosse Hall of Fame was founded in 1957 to honor men and women for their achievements in the sport lacrosse. We have already posted an article on our blog about the Canadian Lacrosse Hall of Fame and now we will take a look at the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame.

National Lacrosse Hall of Fame


Members of the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame have been accepted annually by US Lacrosse since 1957 and are anchored in the Lacrosse Museum and the National Hall of Fame on the campus of the Johns Hopkins University. The museum and the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame was re-established in 1997 as part of the expansion of the US Lacrosse Headquarters.
For individuals there are 4 categories: players, coaches, officials / umpire and constributors in the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame. The annual number of admissions is limited to five persons per class (men and women). A nomination committee is required for the qualification. This committee consists of 25 women and 25 men. The Board of Directors is responsible for the final decision. The election and nomination process takes place annually from January to April. The people are then accepted and will be introduced in May during an official ceremony.

Nomination and induction procedures

Nomination and induction procedures - National Lacrosse Hall of Fame

source: shutterstock

The process in the short version is as follows: all applications must be submitted in January, the voting committees assembled and formed the TOP 12 men and women candidates for admission. The voting process will then take place in March. In April the final candidates will be submitted to the US Lacrosse Executive Committee for approval. End of October / beginning of November the annual National Hall of Fame induction celebration takes place.
Now a little more detailed. The process is the same for both men and women, but separately. Nominations are recorded by a questionnaire, stored at US Lacrosse and updated annually. After all these quastionnaires have been evaluated, the Nomination Committee starts the selection of the TOP 25 candidates and call them the right to vote. An alphabetical list of the candidates will then be sent to all Hall of Fame voters. These voters identify the TOP 15 candidates on a scale of 1-15 and then return the ballot to the Nomination Committee. There, the results are tabulated. The TOP 15 candidates will then be eligible for the nomination committee. The committee then elects 5 people and submits them to the US Lacrosse Board of Direcctors (USL BOD) and then they decides if they accept the 5 candidates of the Nomination Committee or they decide on 5 candidates from the pool of the TOP 15.

Selection guidelines

In this process, there are three policies,
1. Only one candidate per class (one man, one woman) from each university
2. In the categories Coach, Official/ Umpire and Contributer only one candidate per class can be accepted
3. In order to be nominated, a candidate must receive a 75% approval from the respective Nomination Committee


There are four different categories in the National Hall of Fame you can be recorded:
1. A really big player: Only players who are already 15 years from the planned college year are allowed
2. A truly great coach: Only coaches who are either retired for at least 5 years ot who have been active as lacrosse coach for 25 years or more.
3. A truly great Official / Umpire: Only for people who have been retired for a tleast 5 years or have been active as officials oder umpires for 25 years or more.
4. A truly great Contributer: This is a person who has shown long, committed and extraordinary achievements and constributions to the game. Unless otherwise announced by the Nomination Committe, the candidate must be active for at least 20 years.

National Lacrosse Hall of Fame inductees

inductees of the National Hall of Fame

source: shutterstock

In 1957, the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame was established. The first five men to be accepted were Laurie D. Cox of the Harvard University, William C. Schmeisser of the Johns Hopkins University, Roy Taylor of the Cornell University, Cyrus C. Miller of the New York University and Charles E. Marsters from the Harvard University.
In 1992, the first woman, Rosabelle Sinclair from the St. Leonard’s School was taken to the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame. They followed Jacquelin Pitts from St. Lawrence University in 1993, Margaret Boy from Wycombe Abbey and Elizabeth Richey from the Radcliffe College, as well as many other women in the years after.
In 2016, of course, 5 women and 4 men were admitted to the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame, the women were Kim Basner from West Chester University, Joanne Conelly from the Penn State University, Margie Andrson from the University of Massachusetts, Michele LeFevre Doyle from the West Chester University and Julie Dayton from the Longwood University. And the men were Mike Morrill from Johns Hopkins University, Glen Miles from the United States Academy, Robert Sheck from the Twoson University and John Tucker from the Johns Hopkins University.
The Johns Hopkins University is the University with the most people in the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame with 69 people until today. Followed by the University of Maryland with currently 40 people in the Hall of Fame. The Syracuse University with 25 people in the Hall is third.
If you would like to have more detailed information about the members or just want to have a look at all members, you can find everything on the Lacrosse Hall of Fame site of US Lacrosse.

We hope we can give you some new impressions in the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame and you will finde some new information about the TOP players and know now when and how you can follow the selections.

Leave a Reply